Skip down to page content.

Southern Door County Community Information OLD

Southern Door County Community Information OLD


Southern Door County consists of Nasawaupee, Brussels, Gardner, Maplewood, Forestville, Ahnapee, and Claybanks.

A little history on the Southern Door communities...

Nasawaupee was established in 1860 when people of the area wanted to have a post office. A Green Bay postmaster Nasawaupee after a Menomonie Indian chief. The name means "dawn", or "time just before sunrise."

Brussels was settled by Belgians who arrived in the area in 1853 and became a township in 1858. Namur (named for the province from which came most of the area’s Belgian population) and Union (named for the unified way in which residents handled public matters) were established in 1865.

Gardner, established in 1864 was named for Freeland Gardner, the first Door County shipbuilder who employed hundreds of Belgians. Waloon French is still spoken in many homes in this area.

German, British and Canadian settled the Township of Maplewood in 1858. Maplewood and Forestville are part of this township.

Claybanks, named for the high banks along the Lake Michigan shoreline originated in 1859. Brick factories operated along the shore for many years.

Contact Information

Photo of Connie Erickson Real Estate
Connie Erickson
Door County Realty, Inc.
Po Box 340 - 4027 Main Street
Fish Creek WI 54212
Office: 920-868-2075
Toll Free: 888-678-3949
Fax: 920-868-2425

These Are Connie Erickson's Core Values

The Best In Personal Service